Muse's Muse Songwriting Message Board: Marketing online for nonperforming writers - Muse's Muse Songwriting Message Board

What This Forum Is About:

Good music publishers wear two different "hats." The first is that of "mentor and coach" -- to develop the skills of aspiring songwriters. The second is that of "promoter" -- maximizing the exposure and earningpotential of the song. This forum is the place to find out how to wear both "hats" effectively yourself if you don't have a music publisher.
Page 1 of 1

Marketing online for nonperforming writers

#1 User is offline   Janell Icon

• Muse In Training
  • Pip
  • Group: Members

Posted 11 June 2010 - 10:07 AM

Hi.
I was wondering if anyone here knows a reputible website where I can post songs I have co-written as a means of gaining exposure. I am a nonperforming writer.
Thanks!
Janell :rolleyes:

#2 User is offline   Neal K Icon

• Smile. It'll do you good.
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Moderators

Posted 11 June 2010 - 10:32 AM

There are none. Sorry. Publishers don't go to websites looking for songs. Why would they when they get hundreds of unsolicited demos everyday? Besides, most publishers deal with staff writers, or writers they already know.

You might want to check out TAXI. This is a web-based service that helps connects songwriters with the various markets, but it's not a place where you post songs and people come looking. You pay a fee and they let you know what opportunties are out there - then it's up to you to submit your material.

It's a tough road for a non-performing songwriter who doesn't live in a major music center like Nashville, New York, or LA. Your best bet might be to see if there are any local artists in your area who are looking for original material.