Muse's Muse Songwriting Message Board: What organisations do I need to join ? - Muse's Muse Songwriting Message Board

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

What organisations do I need to join ?

#1 User is offline   pkellyca Icon

• Muse In Training
  • Pip
  • Group: Members

Posted 26 April 2012 - 03:49 PM

Hello to all;

I am quite new to the business but have recently had a song recorded by a Montreal artist. My question is what organisations do I need to join to ensure any royalties are distributed properly. I have looked at the SOCAN and SODRAC sites but it still seems a bit confusing. Things such as transfer of Copyrights and other issues.
Any advice or help would be greatly appreciated.

Thank;
Peter

#2 User is offline   FunkDaddy Icon

• Ph.D Drumology
  • PipPipPipPipPip

Posted 27 April 2012 - 09:26 AM

Q: How do I qualify for SOCAN membership if I am a music creator?
A: You must establish that you meet one of the following criteria:
• Your music is published by a music publisher owned by someone other than yourself
• Your music has been recorded and is available for sale
• Your music has been performed on radio
• Your music has been performed on TV or in a film
• Your music has been performed live

Transfer of copyright would be between you and whoever the artist is published with, not SOCAN. Why you would be doing that for an artist recording your song would be my question as it's unnecessary unless they are paying you for the song.
Mark
SoundCloud
Facebook
YouTube

Always up for a collaboration with lyricists!

#3 User is offline   pkellyca Icon

• Muse In Training
  • Pip

Posted 27 April 2012 - 03:08 PM

View PostFunkDaddy, on 27 April 2012 - 09:26 AM, said:

• Your music is published by a music publisher owned by someone other than yourself